Notice is hereby given for a Republican Primary to be held on Tuesday, May 3, 2022, in all voting precincts in Haywood County, Tennessee, for the purpose of electing the Republican nominees for the following offices: Chancellor 28th Judicial District, Circuit Court Judge 28th Judicial District, District Attorney 28th Judicial District, and Public Defender 28th Judicial District

PETITIONS must be picked up at the Haywood County Election Commission Office. Qualifying deadline for these positions is Thursday, February 17, 2022, at 12:00 noon.
Any candidate running in the August 4, 2022 General Election as an Independent candidate for the offices listed above must also qualify by Thursday, February 17, 2022, at 12:00 noon.

ACCESSIBILITY NOTICE: Disabled and/or elderly persons who believe that their polling places are inaccessible are encouraged to vote early or may vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day. Voters who intend to vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day must notify the commission in writing no later than April 23, 2022.
PHOTO ID LAW: Federal or Tennessee state government issued photo ID is required to vote in person, unless an exception applies. College student IDs will not be accepted. To learn more about the law and its exceptions, visit or
ABSENTEE BY MAIL REQUESTS: A written request to vote Absentee by Mail in this election may be received beginning February 2, 2022 and no later than April 26, 2022. For more information visit or call the office at 731-772-1760. (The office will be closed for a holiday on April 15, 2022)
ONLINE VOTER REGISTRATION: The Tennessee Online Voter Registration System offers a convenient way for voters to easily register or change their address if they have moved. The system allows U.S. citizens with a driver’s license or photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security to register to vote online or update their voter regis-tration online. Visit or

Haywood County Election Commission
Courthouse – Lower Level
1 N. Washington Ave
Brownsville, TN 38012
Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday Closed for lunch 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Jan McAdams, Chairman
John Ashworth, Secretary
Ida Ruth Bradford, Commissioner
Jody Lea, Commissioner
Macon Thornton, Commissioner
Andrea Smothers, Administrator of Elections