The City of Brownsville will conduct an election on Tuesday, June 21, 2022, from 9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m., for the purpose of electing Mayor, Alderman Ward 2 and Alderman Ward 4. This election is for registered voters in the City of Brownsville only. In order to participate in an election, a qualified voter must be properly registered no later than thirty (30) days before the election.

CANDIDATE PETITIONS: Petitions may be picked up from the Haywood County Election Commission Office on the lower level of the Courthouse in Brownsville during regular business hours Monday – Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.(closed for lunch 11:30 – 12:30, unless posted otherwise). The deadline to file a qualifying petition for this election is 12 noon on March 17, 2022.

ACCESSIBILITY NOTICE: Disabled and/or elderly persons who believe that their polling places are inaccessible are encouraged to vote early or may vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day.  Voters who intend to vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day must notify the commission in writing no later than June 11, 2022.

PHOTO ID LAW: Federal or Tennessee state government issued photo ID is required to vote in person, unless an exception applies.  College student IDs will not be accepted.  To learn more about the law and its exceptions, please call 731-772-1760 or visit, or

ABSENTEE BY MAIL REQUESTS: A written request to vote Absentee by Mail in this election may be received beginning March 23, 2022 and no later than June 14, 2022. For more information, please contact the Election Office at 731-772-1760. (The office will be closed for holidays on April 15 and May 30)

ONLINE VOTER REGISTRATION: The Tennessee Online Voter Registration System offers a convenient way for voters to easily register or change their address if they have moved. The system allows U.S. citizens with a driver’s license or photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security to register to vote online. Visit or to register online.

Haywood County Election Commission
Courthouse – Lower Level
1 N. Washington Ave
Brownsville, TN 38012
Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday Closed for lunch 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Jan McAdams, Chairman
John Ashworth, Secretary
Ida Ruth Bradford, Commissioner
Jody Lea, Commissioner
Macon Thornton, Commissioner
Andrea Smothers, Administrator of Elections