Notice of Election

The City of Brownsville will conduct an election on Tuesday, June 21, 2016,

for the purpose of electing Alderman Ward 1 and Alderman Ward 3. Only voters in the respective Wards will be eligible to vote in those races.


The deadline to file a qualifying petition is 12 noon on Thursday, March 17, 2016.

Petitions may be picked up from the Haywood County Election Commission Office on the lower level of the Courthouse in Brownsville during regular business hours, Monday – Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. (closed for lunch 11:30 – 12:30, unless posted otherwise). The Election Commission Office will be closed for the Good Friday Holiday on March 25, 2016.


Liquor Referendum

There will also be a Liquor Referendum – Wine in the Grocery Stores on

Tuesday, June 21, 2016.  ALL CITY OF BROWNSVILLE voters will be eligible

to vote in the Referendum Election


Disabled and/or elderly persons who believe that their polling places are inaccessible are encouraged to vote early or may vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day.  Voters who intend to vote at the Election Commission Office on Election Day must notify the commission in writing no later than June 11, 2016.

A written request to vote Absentee by Mail may be received no earlier than March 23, 2016 and no later than June 14, 2016.


Federal or Tennessee state government issued photo ID is required to vote in person, unless an exception applies.  College student IDs will not be accepted.  To learn more about the law and its exceptions, please call 731-772-1760 or visit, or


Haywood County Election Commission                                          Jan McAdams, Chairman

Courthouse – Lower Level                                                                John Ashworth, Secretary

1 N. Washington Ave.                                                                      Ida Ruth Bradford

Brownsville, TN 38012                                                                  Samuel Gardner

731-772-1760                                                                                   Jody Lea                                                                           Andrea Smothers, Administrator of Elections